Back to News


The Black Keys’ new album El Camino will be released December 5 on Nonesuch Records.  Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys, the 11-track album was recorded at singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011.

In advance of the release, the album’s first single, ‘Lonely Boy’, will be released on October 26.  The complete track list is below; further details will be announced shortly.  Pre-orders of El Camino begin today at and

El Camino follows the most successful two years in The Black Keys’ career.  In May 2010 they released their breakthrough album, Brothers, to widespread critical acclaim.  Debuting at # 2 in the US, it went on to win three Grammy Awards and an MTV Video Music Award, and topped numerous year-end lists, including iTunes, NPR, and Rolling Stone.  Brothers, which included the hit singles ‘Tighten Up’ and ‘Howlin’ for You’, has been certified Gold in the US and UK, and Platinum in Canada.  Worldwide sales are now over one million and counting.

Drummer Patrick Carney said of the band’s recent success, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are.  It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend.  We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.”  Auerbach further describes the band’s dynamic, “We don’t talk before we play.  We don’t practice before we record, we just fly by the seat of our pants.”  He says of El Camino, “I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live.  This record is more straight ahead rock and roll – raw, driving, and back to basics.”

The Black Keys – Akron, OH natives Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney – released their debut album, The Big Come Up, in 2002, followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004).  In 2006 they signed to Nonesuch Records in the US and released their fourth album, Magic Potion, which was followed by the Danger Mouse-produced Attack & Release in 2008.  El Camino is the first Black Keys album Nonesuch will release worldwide.

To coincide with the release of the new album The Black Keys have announced a headline tour of Europe in January & February 2012, including dates in Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Holland and the UK.  Due to demand, extra dates have been added in Manchester (Feb 7) and London (Feb 9) and will go on sale on October 14.  Please see below for details.

El Camino track list

1. Lonely Boy

2. Dead and Gone

3. Gold on the Ceiling

4. Little Black Submarines

5. Money Maker

6. Run Right Back

7. Sister

8. Hell of a Season

9. Stop Stop

10. Nova Baby

11. Mind Eraser

European Tour Schedule – January & February 2012

Mon Jan 23           Lotto, Antwerp, Belgium                       

Tue Jan 24            Zenith, Lille, France                              

Wed Jan 25          Zenith, Paris, France                            

Fri Jan 27              Sporthalle, Hamburg, Germany         

Sat Jan 28             Arena, Berlin, Germany                        

Mon Jan 30           Alcatraz, Milan, Italy                               

Tue Jan 31            Maag Hall, Zurich, Switzerland           

Wed Feb 1            Klokgebouw, Eindhoven, Holland      

Fri Feb 3                Capital FM Arena, Nottingham, UK    

Sat Feb 4               Corn Exchange, Edinburgh, UK         

Mon Feb 6             Apollo, Manchester, UK                        

* Tue Feb 7           Apollo, Manchester, UK                        

* Thu Feb 9           Alexandra Palace, London, UK           

Fri Feb 10              Alexandra Palace, London, UK           

* Extra dates added due to demand, on sale October 14